How to Delete a Facebook Comment
If you’ve ever said something on Facebook that you didn’t intend to, it’s imperative that you know how to remove comments. The method you use to remove a comment depends on where you posted it, whether you wish to remove your own or someone else’s contribution to one of your posts, and whether you wish to delete it totally.
How to Remove a Facebook Comment
In most instances, erasing a Facebook comment is a two-step process.
If you have posted a comment on your own or someone else’s post, you can delete it by clicking the three dots to the right of the comment and selecting Delete from the drop-down menu. If a confirmation message appears after you delete a comment or post, you must select Delete once more to confirm your decision.
If you want to edit a comment you’ve made on one of your posts or another user’s post, the process is nearly identical to deleting a Facebook post. Choose Edit from the pull-down menu accessible by clicking the three dots to the right of your comment.
If you created a post on your wall, another user’s wall, or a Facebook group, you can delete it in the same manner. The only distinction is that the option to delete the post from Facebook appears lower on the list. Select the three dots in the upper right corner of the post you wish to delete, and then select Delete at the bottom of the drop-down menu.
You can edit the same post using the same approach. Just select the three dots at the upper right corner of the post and select Edit post at the top of the pull-down menu.
How to Delete or Edit Someone Else’s Comment
You can only edit a comment left on one of your posts, in a Facebook group or page you manage, or on another user’s post.
Follow the steps below to delete or edit a Facebook post made by someone else.
- To delete a comment made by another user on one of your posts, simply click the three dots to the post’s right. Choose Delete from the drop-down option. Remember that in order to delete someone else’s Facebook comment, it must be in reaction to one of your posts or published on your wall. You cannot delete a user’s post on your wall or on another user’s wall, nor can you delete a user’s comment on another user’s post.
You can remove a user’s comment from a Facebook Group or Page that you manage. The procedure is the same as deleting a comment from your personal wall. Choose Delete from the pull-down menu accessible by clicking the three dots to the right of the comment.
There are numerous instances in which you may wish to remove a comment on a Facebook post, whether it is yours or someone else’s.
Why Delete a Comment on Facebook?
- You’ve realized your Facebook comment might have come across wrong and want to remove it so you don’t hurt anyone’s feelings.
- People misunderstood what you’ve posted and you’d prefer to remove it entirely.
- After further research, you’ve discovered that something you posted is incorrect.
- You got in trouble for something you posted to Facebook and you’re required to delete the comment or face consequences.
- You received many negative responses to your comment and you’d like to remove the entire conversation from Facebook.
- A third-party app or website you use automatically posted something to your wall and you didn’t want it to.
Remember that deleting a comment that has gotten several responses will also erase those responses. If you do not wish for the responses to be deleted from Facebook, you may want to consider modifying your comment rather than erasing it.